Get Adobe Flash player
Quick Links

July 6 2013
Pardon our dust. See announcement on TOP of page.

Welcome To Avanti Auto Driving School for
Behind The Wheel Driving Instruction & Traffic School

Traffic School Eligibility

driving_school_traffic_school_AvantiHow often can I elect to attend traffic school and what is the process of doing so?

When you choose to elect traffic school, depending on the Clerk of Courts procedure,  you could sign an affidavit (which may be on your citation) or, provided to you separately. Once signed it indicates to the courts your intention to complete the requirements imposed upon you. Part of the affidavit that you sign is your acknowledgement that you have not elected to attend traffic school within the previous year. For example: If you elected to attend traffic school on January 19, 2008 and you receive another ticket on April 27, 2008, you will not be able to elect to attend traffic school for your second ticket. What this also means, you will not be able to elect to attend traffic school again until after January 20, 2009.

In a nut-shell, whether you signed an affidavit or, paid a slightly reduced fine, both processes indicate to the clerk your intentions to take traffic school.

The Avanti Auto Driving and Traffic School Stop Sign

Sometimes, two traffic infractions occurred which results (unfortunately) in two separate traffic citations. When this happens keep in mind, you will only be allowed to elect traffic school for one (1) of your tickets, provided that you have not elected to attend traffic school within the past 12 months.

Court Orders and TCAC courses, on the other hand, are not applied towards your "elected option allotment". A judge can order you to attend traffic school as many times as he wishes. And, in some cases -- where a judge may be a bit distraught with a particular licensed driver behavior - may order an individual to attend a course more than once, or, in some cases court order the individual to a series of courses, in order to have adjudication withheld for one citation.

Recently a Florida licensed driver elected options have been increased. Many moons ago a Florida licensed driver was only allowed to elect traffic school not more than 5 times in their entire Florida driver license lifetime. Now, a Florida driver can elect to go to traffic school 5 times within 10 years. After the 10 year period has passed you'll be granted 5 more times to elect traffic school if the situation should present itself.

If you mistakenly elect to attend traffic school when you are not eligible to do so, call the clerk of the circuit court in the county in which your citation was issued immediately. If you are unsure of your eligibility status call the DHSMV.

The Avanti Auto Driving and Traffic School Stop Sign

Who may choose to attend a driver improvement course?

Any person charged with a moving or non-moving traffic violation that would result in points being assessed to their FLORIDA driving record, may choose to attend a driver improvement course.

However, circumstances for Driver Improvement Class attendance is not allowed for the following:

All criminal violations/CDL drivers who are charged with serious traffic violations while in their commercial motor vehicle

What is the benefit of attending a driver improvement course?

Attending a driver improvement course to satisfy the violation will be entered on your driver record as an "adjudication withheld." In other words:

No points will be assessed against your FLORIDA driver license and you will be able to maintain your Safe Driver status, *Furthermore, the civil penalty can be reduced up to 18 percent (which varies from county to county) and, your current insurance company cannot impose an additional premium or, refuse to renew a policy for motor vehicle insurance solely because the insured committed a non-criminal traffic infraction with the exceptions of; a second infraction within 18 months, or a third infraction in 36 months, or exceeding the speed limit by more than 15 mph.

The Avanti Auto Driving and Traffic School Stop Sign

*Note: Effective February 1, 2009 many counties are eliminating the "traffic school election" reduced traffic school fine. As a matter of fact some counties are increasing their fees slightly.

Do I have to pay the civil fine when I attend a driver improvement or traffic school course?

Yes. For the exact cost of the civil penalty, contact the Traffic Division of the Clerk of Court in the county where you received your citation.

How can I elect to attend a driver improvement course or traffic school course?

You have several options.

You can go the to the Clerk's office in the county where you received the citation and speak directly to the clerk in the traffic division or, in some cases, the officer provided you with an envelope (or handout) which has complete instructions. This envelope (which is becoming rare these days) may have an affidavit attached where you may use it to indicate your intention to attend a driver improvement course. However, if you should choose to pay the "reduced" fine (which many counties are eliminating) - will typically indicate to the Clerk of Courts that you have elected "traffic School."

The Avanti Auto Driving and Traffic School Stop Sign

Last, (and most importantly) carefully read all of the material that the officer provided you.

Do I have to pay to attend a driver improvement course or traffic school course?

Yes, fees range for the 4-hour Basic Driver Improvement course between $22.95 to $45.00.

Do I need anything else after I attend the driver improvement course or traffic school course?

Yes, you must present the completion certificate to the Clerk's office in the county where you received your citation. Please consult with the traffic division in the Clerk's office in the county where your received your citation for exact requirements.

The Avanti Auto Driving and Traffic School Stop Sign

Can I change my mind after I elect to attend a driver improvement course or a traffic school course?

No. Once you notify the clerk of your intention to attend a course, you have between 60 and 90 days from the date of the citation to complete the course and present proof of completion. The consequences of receiving a "non-completion" will result with license suspension.

What happens if I choose to attend and don't complete it?

Good question. If the date has passed and you choose not to complete your obligation, your drivers license will be suspended. You will need to pay a reinstatement fee, take the points and the reduced fine penalty difference in addition to a processing fee for occupying the court clerks time. The clerk of court then notifies the DHSMV of your failure to attend driver improvement, points will be placed on your record for the violation and, if you had a safe driver status on your license - you're going to loose it and, perhaps get a rate increase from your insurance company.

The Avanti Auto Driving and Traffic School Stop Sign

How many times can I choose to attend a driver improvement course or traffic school course?

You can choose to attend a driver improvement course only once in any 12-month period and no more than five times over a ten year time frame.

Where can I get more information about traffic school election?

For the specific requirements, please contact the traffic division of the Clerk's office in the county where you received your citation.

If I live in a county different than the one where I got my citation, do I need to take traffic school in that county?

The Avanti Auto Driving and Traffic School Stop Sign

No. Our driver improvement course is a STATE of Florida certified program accepted by all counties in the State. Also, be sure to follow the instructions that the officer provided or, contact the traffic division of the Clerk's office in the county where you received your citation for their specific requirements.

If I choose to attend a driver improvement course and do not attend, does this count as one of the five times I am allowed to choose this option?

Yes it does. Once the affidavit has been signed and recorded by the court you may not choose the school option again for 12 months, and all monies are forfeited.

Are all traffic citation procedures and fees the same in all Florida counties?

No, not exactly. Each county has its own procedures for this process. If you have any questions, contact the traffic division in the Clerk's office in the county where you received the citation.

The payment for my citation is nearly due, and I have not elected to attend traffic school yet nor, paid my fine. What are my options?

If you believe that you will not be able to pay your fine before your payment is due, you are still eligible to elect to attend traffic school.

In some stances, certain clerks of the circuit court will permit you to attend traffic school if you pay an additional fine and comply with other requirements imposed by the clerk's office. In order to determine if you are eligible for such an extension, locate the appropriate clerk's office and call them for further information.

The Avanti Auto Driving and Traffic School Stop Sign

I have completed traffic school but have not notified the county, and my certificate is due tomorrow. What are my options?

If you believe that you will not be able to provide the clerk's office with your certificate of completion by your due date you need to contact them -- post haste -- without delay. In other words ... immediately.
In some instances, certain clerks of the circuit court will provide you with an extension. Click here to locate the appropriate clerk's office and call them for further information.

I don't want to take the 4-hour Basic Driver Improvement/4-hour DDC (Defensive Driving Course) course online. What are my options?

No Problem. We have live day and evening classes available! Call 561-338-6400 for dates, times and details.

Question Not Answered?

Don't be shy, call us at: (561) 338-6400.  

 

4 Hr. Drug and Alcohol
Our First Time Driver course (also known as the 4-hour Drug and Alcohol course) is only $25 and change! DMV/Florida State mandated and approved program is an easy 4-hour course required for all first time drivers. No hidden fees. Complete course automatically reported to Florida DHSMV upon completion!

More Info English >>

Get Started Now!

Returning English

4-Hour Traffic School
Traffic school $8.50! Our State of Florida approved courses is very easy and entertaining.

Traffic school eliminates points on your driving record. Maintain your safe driving status! Be sure to book mark the page after you register! Questions? Call us at 561-338-6400!

More Info English >>

Get Started Now!

8-Hr DDC
Got another ticket? No Problem! Taking our course is EASY and 100% online. Only $59.95 complete! Questions? call: 561-338-6400

More Info >>

Get Started Now!

12-Hr ADI Course
Only $85.95 complete and rest assured, there's no hidden fees! Our Advanced Driver Improvement (ADI-12) is for individuals who are court ordered, or are HTO or whose license has been suspended due to points and are seeking a hardship/work purpose only license or, license reinstatement.

More Info English >>
More Español >>

Get Started Now!

Registro Español

Returning English

Volviendo Español

3-in-3 Driving Course
Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicle approved course for individuals who received three crash-related moving violations in a three-year period. This new 16 hour course must be completed within 90 days of notification by the DHSMV and includes 12 hour ADI and four hours of in-car driver evaluation. Our ADI-12 course is only $85.95 complete and rest assured, there's no hidden fees.

More Info English >>
More Español >>

Get Started Now!

Registro Español

Returning English

Volviendo Español

Contact Us!
Avanti Auto Driving School
1200 N. Federal Hwy., 200
Boca Raton, FL 33432
PB: (561) 338-6400
Broward: (954) 783-8074